Email RSS Feed Twitter Facebook
Thunder Tiger Mini Titan E325
Site Rating:
Overall
Quality
Value
User Rating:
VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
Rating: 3.7/5 (7 votes cast)

Thunder Tiger Mini Titan E325

Overview

The Mini Titan has become my firm favourite 450 size helicopter. Despite its all plastic head and body, the quality is amazing. I am contemplating buying a second to convert into a Cobra Gunship.

Actions

Check Price Thunder Tiger Mini Titan E325, 3.7 out of 5 based on 7 ratings Write A Review!

Pros

  • Great quality
  • Great parts support/pricing/availability
  • Excellent performance

Cons

  • Nothing

Let me be the first to stick my hand up and admit that I was a diehard T-Rex fan. The availability of spare parts and the vast array of clone parts, at incredible prices, kept me from ever looking at an Align competitor’s 450-size helicopter. All that changed after my exploding rotor head incident (more on this later) and I started shopping around at some of my local hobby shops. The Mini Titan E325 immediately caught my attention. I was a bit hesitant at first after noticing that it was an all plastic body and main rotor head, but the salesman managed to convince me that he has seen more than a few T-Rex fans switch to the Mini Titan and not look back. So with, a lighter wallet, I left the store and couldn’t wait to get home.

Introduction

The Mini Titan E325 is produced by Thunder Tiger of Taiwan. Most people will be familiar with their Nitro powered Raptor series. Thunder Tiger has always produced some amazing products and the Mini Titan is no exception. The packaging is top notch and the instructions are clear and precise. Unpacking the box you will notice that all bags are labeled and each bag corresponds to a specific step in the instruction manual, which makes building the helicopter a piece of cake.

What You Will Need

I opted for the kit version without any included electronics as I would just strip everything I needed from my grounded T-Rex 450, I also enjoy the challenge of assembling each section myself. The Mini Titan is available in other configurations including ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) and RTF (Ready to Fly) versions.

Electronics I was able to salvage from the T-Rex were the following:

  • Turnigy Typhoon 2215H 3550kv Brushless Heli Motor
  • TowerPro H40A Brushless Speed Controller
  • HobbyKing 401B AVCS Digital Head Lock Gyro
  • 3 x HXT900 9g Micro Servos
  • Turnigy DS480 Digital Servo
  • Fly Sky FS-TH9X Transmitter
  • HobbyKing 2.4Ghz 6Ch Receiver

Assembly

As I mentioned earlier, the supplied instructions are great and walk you through each stage of the build. All the packets are clearly marked and it is recommended that you don’t open them until you reach that stage of the build. This is logical and keeps everything organized but if you are missing a part you won’t know about it until you need it, as I did when I got to the main frame. I was accidently supplied with two left servo mounts and no matter how much I tried, I couldn’t install it on the right side of the frame. A quick email to my local hobby store and a replacement was ordered for me at no charge.

Mounting the cyclic servos also proved problematic as Thunder Tiger would like you to use their servos, so the HXT-900′s would not fit without a bit of grinding to the frame and servo mounts. Then when I did get them to fit, I noticed that the linkage rods where at an off angle, so I needed to use spacers between the servo and the mount.

The rest of the build was uneventful, but I did appreciate how easy everything was to put together. The quality of the plastic parts had me wondering why I had so loved all alloy parts on my other helicopters.

Kit form really takes on new meaning with the Mini Titan as not a single part is put together. You even need to attach the blade grips to the blades and build the canopy yourself. So opt for the ARF or RTF version if you don’t enjoy spending a few hours tinkering.

Setting It Up

Set up was really simple and the manual guides you through the basics of CCPM flight. If you followed the assembly instructions then you should have a pretty well set up helicopter right from the start. One thing to look out for is that to increase pitch, the swashplate moves down instead of up.

First Flight

This is where the Mini Titan really shines. I approach every maiden flight with caution but the Mini Titan really surprised me with its incredible flight characteristics. It feels much more stable than a T-Rex 450 and gives you that locked in feel of a much larger helicopter.

The performance is superb and I felt confident enough to perform a few loops and rolls on its first flight. Something I would never do before with a new helicopter. The Mini Titan is able to handle almost anything I throw at it.

Conclusion

The Mini Titan has become my firm favourite 450 size helicopter. Despite its all plastic head and body, the quality is amazing. I am contemplating buying a second to convert into a Cobra Gunship.

Parts availability was a big concern for me but almost every Hobby Shop now stocks the most common parts for the helicopter.

Thunder Tiger Mini Titan E325, 3.7 out of 5 based on 7 ratings

38 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. September 2, 2013, 6:21 pm

    I just could not leave your site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual info
    an individual provide to your visitors? Is going to be again continuously in order to investigate cross-check new
    posts

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  2. August 30, 2013, 5:34 pm

    Good post! We are linking to this great article on our site.
    Keep up the great writing.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  3. August 27, 2013, 1:34 pm

    Awesome issues here. I’m very satisfied to look your post. Thank you so much and I am having a look forward to touch you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  4. August 27, 2013, 7:58 am

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do
    with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.

    A great read. I will definitely be back.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  5. Bernardo says
    August 24, 2013, 10:41 pm

    This piece of writing is really a good one it helps new web viewers,
    who are wishing for blogging.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  6. August 24, 2013, 8:44 am

    Fantastic collection, Eric, appreciate it. Bookmarked and shared :)

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  7. August 16, 2013, 6:02 am

    For latest news you have to go to see the web and on internet I found this web site
    as a best site for newest updates.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  8. August 11, 2013, 6:04 pm

    Hey there! I simply would like to offer you a huge thumbs up for
    your excellent info you have got right here on this
    post. I’ll be coming back to your site for more soon.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  9. Felipa says
    August 4, 2013, 10:22 pm

    I’m not sure why but this website is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check
    back later on and see if the problem still exists.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  10. August 4, 2013, 8:10 am

    Very good article. I am going through many of these issues as well.
    .

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  11. August 4, 2013, 5:59 am

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!

    It is the little changes which will make the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  12. Lanora says
    August 3, 2013, 6:46 am

    Hey there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or
    plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations,
    please share. With thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  13. Vernell says
    July 28, 2013, 6:36 pm

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue concerning this article at this place at this blog,
    I have read all that, so now me also commenting
    here.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  14. July 28, 2013, 2:43 pm

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running
    off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post
    to let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem solved soon. Kudos

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  15. July 28, 2013, 9:51 am

    Magnificent web site. Plenty of useful information here. I am sending it
    to several friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thank you in your sweat!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  16. Deanne says
    July 27, 2013, 10:55 am

    Good way of telling, and good piece of writing
    to get data on the topic of my presentation focus,
    which i am going to present in university.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  17. Thelma says
    July 26, 2013, 5:13 pm

    If some one wishes expert view regarding running a blog
    then i recommend him/her to go to see this webpage, Keep up the fastidious job.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  18. blower vac says
    July 25, 2013, 2:06 am

    of course like your web site but you need to test the spelling on several of your
    posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the reality then again I will certainly come again again.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  19. July 6, 2013, 1:21 pm

    Very good info. Lucky me I found your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book-marked it for later!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  20. June 28, 2013, 9:05 pm

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall
    look of your web site is wonderful, as well as the content!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  21. June 24, 2013, 4:20 am

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious familiarity about unexpected emotions.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  22. June 23, 2013, 4:48 am

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. All the best

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  23. June 19, 2013, 6:03 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this website.
    He was entirely right. This publish actually made
    my day. You cann’t believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  24. June 16, 2013, 10:03 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we communicate?

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  25. Alina says
    February 2, 2013, 12:54 am

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as
    long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your website? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours
    and my users would certainly benefit from a lot of the
    information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Appreciate it!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
    • Adam says
      May 21, 2013, 2:46 am

      Sure, go for it

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Reply
  26. david says
    January 28, 2012, 3:33 pm

    i have flown numerous 3 channels before and logged quite a bit of sim time. i jumped skill levels and bought the rtr ah-1w converted kit. didn’t take long and i am doing circles and moving with good speed. this heli is very stable even for a beginner. i love the scale realism as i am a mechanic in the Marines on the real thing. Ah-1W and Uh-1Y currently in Afghanistan. awesome heli!!!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
    • Adam says
      January 28, 2012, 7:28 pm

      Hi David,
      Thanks for the review. If you thought the scale kit was very detailed, and you work on these Cobras, then that is pretty impressive.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Reply
  27. Karl says
    January 22, 2012, 8:37 am

    Edited:
    Review Here

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
    • Karl says
      January 22, 2012, 8:42 am

      OOOPS! I don’t know what I am doing on this site yet. lol I saw it say write a review so I did but I did not realize I wrote a review for the wrong heli. Sorry guys.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Reply
      • Adam says
        January 22, 2012, 8:38 pm

        Hey, No Worries Karl..
        Thanks For the review. I’ll make sure it ends up in the right place.

        VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
        Reply
  28. z0r says
    January 5, 2012, 6:56 pm

    Nice heli, stable, flies good. I have 2 of them and I recommend them and recommend them. One has the cobra body :).

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
    • Adam says
      January 5, 2012, 7:03 pm

      Thanks For the Review Zor. Got any pics of the Cobra Gunship?

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Reply
  29. Rich says
    August 23, 2011, 5:16 am

    I think my favorite 400 size was that showgun v2 belt drive.Went brushless added an aluminum tail rotor housing and servo mount for boom and it flies like a dream.Best small electric for any beginner and intermediat.I still fly it till this day one of my favs.to bad they dont make them no more.I purchased this new mini titan and its pretty nice.I got the cobra kit for it and it flies nice.I also went ahead and got all the top notch electronics along with futuba rock solid gyro with matching servo.Well I have this on my show gun too but micro but any way Yes it is a smooth and quality built heli.Gears are nice and tail is solid in design.My only issue is with these ccpm I just cant get the servo dead on.It measure even but when I lift off with low pitch it wants to go forward and high pitch it wants to go backward.I have faut this thing the whole few years I have owned it.Have a jr 8103 with spectrum upgrade just cant program it out or adjust any of the links….Bugger.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
    • monavie says
      October 2, 2011, 4:38 pm

      I was amazed by how steady it handled, it felt more stable then the little FP trainer heli I practiced with.

      VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      Reply
  30. David says
    October 10, 2010, 12:04 am

    Hello Darron,

    I have to say I completely agree with you. I flew the mini titan for the first time today and it was a dream. I’ve never flown a CP heli before. Neither have I assembled one, but everything worked out great. Well, the tiny motor pinion bolt came loose and gave me a crash course on how to land on autoration but my determination (read: dumb luck) landed the heli perfectly. I was amazed by how steady it handled, it felt more stable then the little FP trainer heli I practiced with. All in all, a great heli that surpasses everything I expected from it. Can’t wait to take it out again tomorrow.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
    • Darron says
      October 10, 2010, 7:05 am

      Thanks David,

      I haven’t regretted my purchase yet. I also left locktite of the tiny pinion bolt on my first flight as I couldn’t decide which pinion to use. Luckily it never came loose and I have no locktited it securely.

      I am absolutely in love with this little heli. I had my first incident yesterday though when I replaced the Rudder Servo, I stupidly didn’t check the gyro direction and powered it up. It went into an uncontrollable spin and I had a minor crash (completely pilot error). End result, broken flybar and paddles, broken main blades and shattered tail blades. The head didn’t suffer any damage at all and I was up and running within 20 minutes of visiting my Hobby Store. Definitely a very tough little bird.

      VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
      Reply
      • June 19, 2011, 11:39 am

        “I replaced the Rudder Servo, I stupidly didn’t check the gyro direction and powered it up.”

        This one’s an old post, but man, does that happen so many times. I’ve done that at least once on every heli. And then shuddered when they crashed. i just never learn my lesson, lol.

        VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
        Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
        Reply

Leave a Reply

Rate This Item

Help This Site: Submit Your Review!