Email RSS Feed Twitter Facebook
Fly Sky FS-TH9X 9Ch
Site Rating:
Overall
Quality
Value
User Rating:
VN:F [1.9.17_1161]
Rating: 3.2/5 (25 votes cast)

Fly Sky FS-TH9X 9Ch

Overview

The Fly Sky FS-TH9X is an excellent radio for the price. If you are on a limited budget and looking to upgrade to 2.4 GHz then I highly recommend you take a look at it. At under $100 for a complete combo it doesn't really matter if you knock or drop it.

Actions

Check Price Fly Sky FS-TH9X 9Ch, 3.2 out of 5 based on 25 ratings Write A Review!

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Easy to Program
  • Module Flexibility

Cons

  • No Failsafe
  • Only 8 Model Memories
  • Some Quality Control Issues


The 2.4 GHz price wars are really heating up at the moment now that many Chinese manufacturers have entered the market. For the past few years there have been various 2.4 GHz modules coming out of China, with some decent offering from Corona and Assan, now it seems like the Chinese want to make a name for themselves by offering full systems. The Fly Sky FS-TH9X is the first offering that I decided to check out.

I am a diehard Futaba Fasst fan but I am tired of having to sell a kidney or take out a second mortgage every time I have to buy a new receiver for my fleet. The Fly Sky offerings drew my attention with their sub $20 receivers. The Fly Sky FS-TH9X is offered under various brand names but it is basically the same transmitter.

Specifications

The Fly Sky FS-TH9X is modular system, so specifications may vary depending on the module you select. The transmitter itself is loaded with features, some of which you will usually only find on some high end transmitters.

  • Number of Channels: 8ch PPM/9ch PCM
  • Display: 128*64 LCD
  • Support Type: Heli/Acro/Glid
  • User Models: 8
  • Stick Modes: 4
  • Encoder Type: PPM/PCM
  • Sub Trim: Yes
  • Simulator Interface: Yes
  • Buzzer: Yes
  • Low Voltage Display: Yes

The menus are clearly and easy to navigate using the 128×64 pixel LCD display. The only issue I had was that the +/- buttons are back to front with the positive on the left.

First Look

When the package arrived I was pleasantly surprised by the attention of detail that Fly Sky went to. Everything looked very professional, that was until I saw the manual. Let me start by saying that the manual is probably the worst Chinglish I have ever seen, luckily the transmitter is easy enough to program without it.

The actual layout of the transmitter is quite nice too; there is a vast array of switches for selecting rates, gear, trainer-mode, flight modes, etc. These are complimented by three knobs which serve for flaps, hover pitch, etc.

From online reports I know that the quality control for these transmitters can vary greatly. The first one I received simply wouldn’t allow me to access the menus. The second one has been with me for a few months now and is still going strong.

One major thing to note is that the amount of channels will vary depending on whether you use PPM or PCM. Switching to PPM reduces the number of available channels to only 8.

Setup

The package that I purchased included the transmitter and transmitter module but no receivers. Luckily I had planned ahead and ordered both the 6 channel and 8 channel receivers from Hobby King. One you have everything the setup is extremely easy. Simply bind the receiver to the transmitter by putting the bind plug in the receiver and powering on your transmitter while holding in the bind button. All the receivers I bought were bound without any problems.

Once you have bound the receiver to the radio, it’s time to program the radio to suit your model. Pay careful attention to servo reversing and also the transmitter’s mode selection.

Flight Testing

And now we will move on to the actual performance. I wasn’t expecting too much from this transmitter, so I was pleasantly surprised by its excellent performance. I could easily fly my helicopter to the very limits of my vision without any glitches. On a 450 size helicopter that means I could take it out about 300 metres on a 500 size helicopter I was able to go to nearly 400 metres before I started to get nervous, not because of the transmitters performance but rather because it became difficult to tell the orientation of the model. The first few flights I was actually expecting glitches, so I only used it on a few electric powered helicopters but now I feel comfortable enough to use it on my whole fleet.

Conclusion

The Fly Sky FS-TH9X is an excellent radio for the price. If you are on a limited budget and looking to upgrade to 2.4 GHz then I highly recommend you take a look at it. If you already have a Futaba/JR/Hitec radio then this will make an excellent backup or get up and go radio. At under $100 for a complete combo it doesn’t really matter if you knock or drop it.

One major problem is that when you are using PPM the 8 Channels means there is a lack of a failsafe option. This might prove a problem if you are flying very fast or dangerous models. But for smaller helicopters and aircraft I don’t see this being a big consideration.

Positives

  • Affordable
  • Easy to Program
  • Module Flexibility

Negatives

  • No Failsafe
  • Only 8 Model Memories
  • Quality Control Issues

As I said earlier, the Fly Sky FS-TH9X is available under various brands, Imax, Turnigy, Eurgle etc. Hobby King ‘s Turnigy 9X is now in its 3rd revision and at under $70 I highly recommend you check it out.

» Visit HobbyKing for more information or to order yours now! «

Fly Sky FS-TH9X 9Ch, 3.2 out of 5 based on 25 ratings

300 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. August 16, 2013, 11:21 am

    Hello there! This is my 1st comment here so I just
    wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thank you!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  2. August 9, 2013, 4:16 pm

    well, this is really a nice post.I really like the way you start and conclude your thoughts.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  3. August 8, 2013, 12:28 am

    Growth is a vital part of any religious organization.
    The name crystal finds it origin in the Greek word krystallos.
    Made in whatever style you choose, custom pins can feature your
    logo or emblem, your choice of text, and even add-ons
    like glitter, simulated gemstone or cut outs.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -4 (from 4 votes)
    Reply
  4. August 7, 2013, 4:30 pm

    I guess I would have to dub myself,” The Accidental Introverted Internet Marketer. You want to choose the right color combinationsfor your site and individual pages up the rankings for that term. Promotional initiatives of limited duration can be a powerful resource for building your acupuncture practice? Some traffic recon review strategies don’t work because they require consistent upkeep.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -4 (from 4 votes)
    Reply
  5. August 6, 2013, 12:52 pm

    However, right or wrong, these items would not suit if you
    were applying at a public school. Lapel years have served many functions, being useful for varied reasons.
    Lapel pins can be made in a variety of different styles to fit specific
    needs.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -3 (from 3 votes)
    Reply
  6. Ilene says
    August 2, 2013, 9:41 pm

    Technology is a vital component of the human life nowadays.
    Monoclonal antibody technology uses the cells from the
    immune system to make antibodies. nn – The nouse technology will be
    particularly helpful to handicapped people and people with bodily disabilities.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -3 (from 3 votes)
    Reply
  7. Emmett says
    August 2, 2013, 8:49 pm

    You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity each day. Withdrawal from levothyroxine can be done but it takes 6 weeks of withdrawal for the remaining thyroid tissue to be completely starved. Hence, broccoli is a must-add ingredient in your vegetarian weight loss diet.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
    Reply
  8. August 1, 2013, 8:06 pm

    When selecting keywords, keep SEO at heart by selecting terms that are apt to get entered as a search term to find this content,
    blog entry or website. As a subject matter, SEO is ever – changing, dynamic,
    highly misunderstood and time – consuming. Which is besides like forking over
    an auto mechanic to take care of your automobile.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  9. July 31, 2013, 3:48 pm

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it.

    Thus that’s why this piece of writing is perfect. Thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  10. July 31, 2013, 10:28 am

    You’ll need to be told what to do when you get into MLM marketing, there are always new products being launched in the Website industry will remain but a dream. In fact, the appeal of most online stores.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  11. July 28, 2013, 12:11 am

    Some solar technologies use the sun’s energy to directly heat buildings. People can save money on electricity bills and this is the best eco-friendly option and a best friend to your wallet. There are differences as well as similarities among the three solar electric systems: grid-tied, off-grid, and hybrid grid-tied battery back-up.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  12. July 26, 2013, 2:00 am

    Finding a right professional may be an uphill task that can be simplified by reviewing the
    application especially the previous patent related cases handled by the prospective professional.
    The document review outsourcing company will negotiate more
    flexibly if it senses your cooperation. There are myriad
    industrial, legal and personal benefits of hiring a patent lawyer Los Angeles.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  13. July 24, 2013, 3:43 am

    They are used quite often on smoke damaged walls
    and will cover and adhere to almost anything. Your home contractor,
    like a tour guide, can guide you through the renovation process smoothly.

    – Show your appreciation to your design dream team with a little housewarming
    get together for them.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  14. July 23, 2013, 10:41 pm

    With most people feeling insecure about their homes, office and their belongings or possessions, whether movable or immovable, there is a dire need to have at least one of
    these systems installed so that at least some sense of relief
    can be achieved by them. You can add separate alarm for the doors and windows of your home, deciding which doors or
    windows to have alarm enabled. Because of this it is much more dangerous and risky committing a crime because the likelihood of getting
    caught is so much greater.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  15. July 20, 2013, 2:11 am

    Hello to all, the contents present at this website are actually remarkable for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  16. July 17, 2013, 12:08 am

    Less common side effects, such as skin darkening or dryness and irritation, affected the skin around the
    eyes. adsense_ad_unit += ” +. Everyone loves the opening retreat, as they
    open their eyes.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    Reply
  17. July 15, 2013, 8:56 pm

    Credit Suisse’s Kumar cited a National Renewable Energy Lab have reportedly made the first seo content 2011 powered night flight, on a trip around the world. Before takeoff, Picard described the technology as a win-win which could create jobs, sustain growth, while cleaning up the transportation environment.

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply
  18. July 6, 2013, 3:12 am

    I delight in, lead to I found just what I used to be looking for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a great day. Bye

    VA:F [1.9.17_1161]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Rate This Item

Help This Site: Submit Your Review!